Elvis has left the building

grcelvis02 grcelvis01 grcelvis03

Firstly, a big thank you to Quiet Loner for sharing two of his favourite albums with us and introducing them with keen insight. It was a special moment when the stylus got stuck during Elvis Costello’s ‘Indoor Fireworks’, a true reminder that we really were playing music from vinyl.

Thanks also to Peak Sounds, The Radio Shed and Quiet Loner (again) for kindly donating prizes for the ‘Elvis Vs Elvis’ quiz. Who knows when Evil Elvis will strike again!

And finally, thanks to everyone who came along and making our second session a big success. I had to bring in more tables and chairs so there must have been more people than last time! Lots of great suggestions for future sessions too.

Thanks to Rich for the photos. Below is a complete list of the songs played.

 grcelvis04 grcelvis06

We’ll be back at the labour club on Sunday 20th October from 1-4pm as part of the Oktoberfest. It’s a BRING YOUR OWN VINYL session, so root out your records and bring them down. We’ll be having just one featured album (to be decided on the day, but likely to be a choice of The Rolling Stones’ Let It Bleed, Who’s Next by The Who and Led Zeppelin III).

The next Thursday session is November 14th, which will be ‘Cult Heroes’. More details on that to come, but in the meantime here’s a little teaser.

QUIET LONER PRESENTS ELVIS VS ELVIS

Elvis Presley – From Elvis In Memphis (RCA Victor, 1969)

grcelvis05

Side One: Wearin’ That Loved On Look/Only The Strong Survive/I’ll Hold You In My Heart (Till I Can Hold You In My Arms)/Long Black Limousine/It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin’/I’m Movin’ On

Side Two: Power Of My Love/Gentle On My Mind/After Loving You/True Love Travels On A Gravel Road/Any Day Now/In The Ghetto

The Costello Show – King Of America (F-Beat, 1986)

grcelvis07

Side One: Brilliant Mistake/Loveable/Our Little Angel/Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood/Glitter Gulch/Indoor Fireworks/Little Palaces/I’ll Wear It Proudly

Side Two: American Without Tears/Eisenhower Blues/Poisoned Rose/The Big Light/Jack Of All Parades/Suit Of Lights/Sleep Of The Just

Elvis Vs Elvis – The Mix

Nick Lowe – So It Goes

Arthur ‘Big Boy’ Cruddup – My Baby Left Me

Specials – Do The Dog

Rufus Thomas – Tiger Man

Jerry Reed – Guitar Man

Robert Wyatt – Shipbuilding

Chet Baker – My Funny Valentine

Smiley Lewis – One Night

Squeeze – Tempted

Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright

The Pogues – The Sick Bed Of Cuchulalln

Little Junior’s Blue Flames – Mystery Train

Sam & Dave – I Can’t Stand Up

Hank Williams – I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry

Chuck Willis – I Feel So Bad

Tony Joe White – Polk Salad Annie

The Flying Burrito Brothers – Hot Burrito No. 1 (I’m Your Toy)

Jimmy Reed – Big Boss Man

James Carr – Pouring Water On A Drowning Man

Kris Kristofferson – For The Good Times

Ray Charles – I Got A Woman

Tommy Tucker – Hi Heel Sneakers

Little Willie John – Leave My Kitten Alone

Dave Edmunds – Girls Talk

Huey Lewis & The News – Do You Believe In Love

Stan Freberg – Heartbreak Hotel

Leave a Reply

